Dates 04.08.2022 - 27.05.2023
Category Germany
Participants 18
Bundesliga Germany
There are no games at the moment There are no games at the moment
Latest news

Main characteristics of the Bundesliga

Year of foundation1963
OrganizerGerman Football League (DFL)
DurationAugust to May
Members18 clubs
AwardsTrophy, medals, prize money
Known teamsBayern Munich, Borussia Dortmund, Schalke 04, Werder Bremen, Bayer Leverkusen, Borussia Mönchengladbach
Where it is broadcastVarious broadcasters around the world
Previous winnerBayern Munich (2021–22)
Record winnerBayern Munich (32 titles)
Record number of goals scored in a match7 (Werder Bremen 7–0 Borussia Mönchengladbach in 1988)

The Bundesliga is the top tier of football leagues in Germany and one of the most prestigious football tournaments in the world. This tournament brings together elite football clubs from all over Germany.


The Bundesliga was founded in 1963, marking the beginning of a new era of professional football in Germany. Over the years, the league has seen a multitude of remarkable teams and footballers.

Competition format and venue

The Bundesliga consists of 18 teams that compete for the title throughout the season. Each club plays two matches against each of the other teams - one at home and one away. At the end of the season, the team with the most points becomes the champion.

Bundesliga matches are held at the teams' home stadiums, including many of Germany's most famous stadiums, such as Allianz Arena (Bayern Munich) and Signal Iduna Park (Borussia Dortmund).

German Football Championship Awards

The winning team is awarded the Bundesliga Champion title. Additionally, at the end of the season, awards are given to the best player, the best goalkeeper, and the top scorer of the league.

Teams and significant events

Many of Germany's most remarkable teams have participated in the Bundesliga. In particular, Bayern Munich has become champion more than 30 times, making them the most successful team in the league's history. Other notable teams include Borussia Dortmund and Hamburg.

The German Football Championship is a place for many significant events in football history. One of the most notable was the "Miracle of Berlin" in 1999, when Bayern Munich won the UEFA Champions League final, scoring two goals in stoppage time.